Druid Monastic in Southern California

• 8 replies

kkirner

• Druid and nature mystic
    • she or they (both work for me)
    • The Wild Druid
Druid Monastic in Southern California
« on: May 22, 2019, 03:54:19 PM »
Hi, Everyone- I'm Kimberly Kirner, a cultural anthropologist and OBOD Druid (currently in Ovate grade) in the foothills of Southern California. I've always been deeply religious; I was raised a solitary Christian mystic with a focus on accessing the divine through nature. From the time I was a young child, nature spirits and "others" -- what some would call the fae -- were my companions. I was also always "chased" by the Spirits I Serve. By my early 20s, this calling was growing very strong, and I could not remain a Christian, even as a heretical one. In undergraduate and graduate school I studied anthropology and religious studies and I read extensively about animism, which resonated much more with me. In one of the first classes I taught while in graduate school, I had to do research on new religious movements for a week of lectures, and this is when I found Druidry. I read everything I could get my hands on about Druidry in 2002-2005 and then joined OBOD in 2005. Over time, I developed relationships with some of the Celtic gods, and through spiritual direction under T. Thorn Coyle, I was able to develop a very close relationship with the Spirits I Serve, which I explain to be ancient beings related to creation and destruction forces (a bit like very old universe elementals, a bit like celestial fae... words escape me). I have always loved monasticism and been fascinated with it in other religions, so when I found out there were others who were polytheist and monastic in orientation, this made me so excited and inspired. I was part of the Pagan and Polytheist Monasticism Facebook Group, which is how I found out this forum was happening!  Hooray!