Ascetic and worshiper of the old Gods in Clearwater, FL

• 6 replies

James Miller

• he/him
    • Worship from the Hearth
Ascetic and worshiper of the old Gods in Clearwater, FL
« on: May 14, 2019, 11:04:04 PM »
I have been interested in monasticism and asceticism since high-school (pre 2000). Religiously, I began in the evangelical world – moved into the Eastern Orthodox church were I helped start a parish and was minor clergy - I left before further ordination.  I think my turn to the EOC was the start of moving toward a pagan faith. The Eastern Orthodox Church interested me for many reasons, one was the relation their  monastic communities have to the liturgical life.   EOC spiritually is more directly related to the monastic life than other christian groups and it grew my appreciation and understanding of an ascetic calling. The Liturgies and practices  for laity are basically shorter versions of what monks do.  The more I studied the EOC monks and saints the more I realized they were a bit beyond what the church made them out to be and that their influences were wide, even pagan. I was growing in a contemplation practice (rooted in the monastic tradition) and hit a wall (partially because I was not close to a monastery)  I became interested  in Zen Buddhism as a way to move forward (actually kinda common in EOC circles). I slowly found that I was thinking about and understood the divine, cosmos, and my relation to them differently than the church.  I think much of this shift was related to what I was studying in my graduate education in folklore and philosophy. Over time I also realized I saw the EOC liturgy, theology, spirituality, and the liturgical  year in a more pagan way (I saw its roots) .  I also had issues with many of the stances the church took dogmatically.  So , after about 9 years I left the EOC officially in 2017.