Danica Swanson - devotee of Skaði at Black Stone Abbey in Portland, OR

• 0 replies

Danica Swanson

• CEO (Creative Endarkenment Overseer) at Black Stone Abbey
  • Contemplative Norse polytheist
    • she/her
    • Black Stone Abbey
I'm Danica Swanson, a co-founder, co-owner, and content admin of this forum. I identify as a contemplative Norse polytheist monastic. I'm also a former admin for the Pagan and Polytheist Monasticism group on Facebook. I'm serving as an editorial consultant for the upcoming anthology on polytheistic monasticism edited by Janet Munin, one of our moderators.

I'm the resident hermit and CEO (Creative Endarkenment Overseer) at Black Stone Abbey, a live/work studio space in Portland, OR consecrated into service of the Ásynjur and other Holy Powers of Yggdrasil. For over 13 years now I've served Skaði, and in more recent years I've also set up shrines for Frigg and Her court (Handmaidens) and Mengloð and the Maidens of Lyfjaberg. I've also been worshiping with a local Heathen group for over ten years.

Co-founder and fellow forum admin WeepingCrow and I are working together, slowly but surely, to establish a contemplative Norse polytheist-animist monastic Order under the auspices of the Abbey. The current space we're working in will not be the Abbey's long-term home; I'm hoping to move to my ancestral motherlands in Sweden eventually and work with Samfundet Forn Sed Sverige to build a full shrine room for Skaði. For eight years (2011-2019) the space was known as The Black Stone Hermitage, and I'm still using that name for it on the website. I'll be updating it later this year.

I've been involved with some flavor or another of Paganism since the mid-1990s. I first became interested in polytheist monasticism around 2005, shortly after I discovered Heathenry and learned that there were other polytheists working to build monasteries. I remember thinking: “Wow! Are there really polytheist nuns? I think that's what I am. I need to find out more!”