Four Spiritual Qualities

  • 0 replies

Syren Nagakyrie

  • *
  • 25
    • she/her, they/them
    • Syren's Blog
Four Spiritual Qualities
« on: June 19, 2019, 08:41:31 AM »
I posted in the votary forums recently that I am reading Sannyasa Darshan, a book which provides a historic overview of the sannyasa tradition in India and explores sannyasa in contemporary times. "Sannyasa" means renunciation, sannyasin is a renunciate. I'm curious about what you all think about these four spiritual qualities which guide the life of a sannyasin. Do they have any application in your life?

Under the vigilant surveillance of the guru, ashram life gives the sannyasin plenty of opportunity to develop the four spiritual qualities: 1) vveka (discrimination); 2) vairagya (detachment); 3) shad sampatti (the six-fold virtues: sama - calmness, dama - sensory restraint, uparati - desisting from worldliness, titiksha - endurance, shraddha - faith and samadhana - mental equilibrium); and 4) mumukshutva (intense desire for liberation).

These four qualities are the cornerstones of sannyasa life and it is not possible to progress on this path without making every effort to attain them.

SANNYASA DARSHAN Swami Niranjananda Saraswati, pg 165